January and February News

20120223-145934.jpg

Well, this post is way overdue, but still exciting for me nevertheless. Had a bit of success back December and a custom order in January at the Charmed Butterfly~! Puts a BIG smile on my face and a glimmer of hope that I might just be able to do this thing called business and be a WAHM. No, I’m not really all that deluded to think that I can actually quit my day job; but then again, no matter what I can’t do that because I’m at home, being a mom. Being a mom, whether you work outside the home or not, you are working 24/7, no vacations, but if you’re lucky and have a super duper hubby, you might just get some time off for some well deserved “ME” time.

Petra at the Charmed Butterfly has been someone I wish I could get to know better, more specifically, I wish we lived closer geographically. I am in NJ, while she is in Virginia. She is an amazing woman and I’m thinking that I’d like to ask her to file out her bio for me so that I can post it here for my readers to see. She is so many things and means so much to those around her.. her family, her community, and many people scattered about the country and possibly farther than that. I certainly will never be able to describe her adequately on my own.

Well, Petra has been very generous to me and extended an invitation to me to send her my pendants on a consignment basis, at the Charmed Butterfly, a gallery, store, and now a studio whose mission it is to showcase local independent artists. She is doing amazing things there. An art studio is her latest venture. It’s a place where you can go and just create. Remember those ceramic studios where you went and picked out a piece, worked on it, they fired it in the kiln, and you could take home a finished piece. I remember making a bank. My dad even got in on the act and made some really nice pieces. As wonderful as this was, however, it was definitely commercial. This meaning that you really didn’t need artistic talent. The items were all made from molds and you just basically scraped off the seams, then painted, then glazed your items. Not putting this down because it allowed a lot of people to experience that feeling when creating. Sadly, these places have all but disappeared in my area. So, it’s been great to hear about what Petra has been doing in her neck of the woods, supporting local artists and creating a space where people can go to create, experiment and network with others.

The not-so apparent downside (well for me) to this artist oasis is that it’s limited to being local, and I’m. Not. Local. I can’t travel the hundreds of miles (346 mi, 6 hrs, to be exact) it would take me to drive down there to visit. I’ma gonna make it one day, though! I’m sad… but very happy that such a place exists. I wish you all the luck and love in the world, Petra, for doing what you do and being who you are.

Yeah, this is going to be a short one. Hopefully, I’ll get some picks connected to this post soon because, well, I love pics.

UPDATE: Used this pic because it’s my own artistic expression for a last minute Halloween costume for Gabe this past year. Yes, he went to school as “Aquarium Staff”, coming from a Curious George story, “Curious George at the Aquarium.” ┬áThis was the only way I could get him to participate.

Tell me what you're thinking~!

